Arkansas Press Association  

Go Back   Arkansas Press Association > Discussion Board > APA News Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-10, 12:46 PM
Tres Tres is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 277
Arrow APA Board Nominees announced

As no additional nominations for the APA Board of Directors were submitted in the two-week period allowed for open nominations, the slate of nominees for eight open positions is set.

The annual election will be held in May, and ballots will be mailed during the early part of the month. Designated voters from APA members in good standing have two weeks to return the ballots. Letters seeking to ascertain the “designated voters” from each APA newspapers were mailed recently. Only designated voters from each APA member newspaper may participate in the election. The designated voter whose signature is on file at the APA office must also sign the outside of the ballot return envelope so the names can be verified to the list on file at APA.

The APA constitution and bylaws require that the candidates who will appear on the ballot be published three times in the “member bulletin”, the Arkansas Publisher Weekly. Below is the list in alphabetical order and as they will appear on the ballot:

Dennis Byrd, Stephens Media, Little Rock
Frank Fellone, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock
Mary Fisher, Fisher Publishing, Danville
James R. “Rusty” Fraser, Stone County Leader, Mountain View
Nat Lea, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock
Bob Moore, Carroll County News, Berryville
David Mosesso, The Sun, Jonesboro
Byron Tate, Times Record, Fort Smith

The APA executive board, comprised of the president, vice president, second vice president and immediate past president, do not stand for election. Barney White, Britt Talent, Don Bona and Roy Ockert Jr. presently hold those positions, respectively.

The two vacancies on the board being filled in this election were created when Melody Moorehouse elected not to seek re-election, and to replace Ockert who leaves the board after serving a year as the immediate past president.

Members of the executive board and the newly-elected board members will assume their seats at the Tri-State Convention June 23-26 in Tunica, Miss.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.